5 ‘New Moon’ Tidbits From Kristen Stewart

New Moon

Kristen Stewart was confident and engaging at this weekend’s massive junket for The Twilight Saga: New Moon, where she spoke at length about New Moon, Eclipse, her stratospheric celebrity, and everything in between. We singled out the five most important things you need to know from Kristen’s interview, from the New Moon syllabus Chris Weitz gave to cast and crew before shooting started (we want one!) to the hotly anticipated ‘sleeping bag scene’ in Eclipse.

Somewhere out there, there is a New Moon production syllabus… and we want a copy!

“Chris [Weitz] did a very different thing that I’ve never had a director do,” Stewart shared. “He put together a syllabus of what we were supposed to achieve and how he was going to make it easier for everyone — sort of an introduction to how he likes to work. It didn’t only introduce the idea of collaboration, it was like inviting everyone onto this project and saying, ‘Please, everyone love it, and please, everyone be invested and work hard.’ It was very encouraging.”

She continued: “It also had technical aspects of how he was so sorry that so much of the movie was going to be CGI stuff that we were going to have to react to but that he was always going to make us aware of what we were acting with, that he was never going to leave us high and dry. A lot of FX movies are hard to do because you don’t know what you’re reacting to. So he had a full rundown of how he planned on making the movie. Most directors are like, ‘Have you put together notes for our meeting?’ It’s like, ‘No. That’s your job.’ So he’s amazing. I love him.”

Was Taylor Lautner really going to be recast unless he grew into the role of Jacob?

“I think that controversy has probably been made bigger than it was,” Stewart said of the well-publicized possibility that her co-star Lautner might be replaced between Twilight and New Moon. “We needed to be sure that whoever played Jacob was going to be Jacob in New Moon. He’s such a different person. He becomes a man. It’s not just a physical transformation. He really becomes an adult. I always knew that Taylor could do that, but we just needed to make sure because it was so important.”

“Once he actually proved himself, which wasn’t hard to do, even seeing him walk around on set was like a different experience,” she explained. “He’s literally become a different person. He’s just grown up. He’s so confident, and the nicest guy that I’ve ever met. I know that I’m using this grammatically incorrectly but he’s the ‘funnest’ guy I’ve ever hung out with. So he’s great. I’m so proud of him.”

Even Kristen Stewart knows that she’s much more confidant with the media and fans that she was just a year ago.

“As soon as I stopped trying to control everything that came out of my mouth and every picture that came out, that’s when I became so much happier and it was so much easier to deal with,” Stewart said. “It wasn’t like it was a turning point. I’ve just grown into not having to care so much and to not try to think that I’m going to be able to plan out the way that everyone perceives me.”

“I’m always going to keep what’s important to me in mind and I completely understand, considering that we’re playing characters that are so coveted by so many people, so I get why they want to know more about us and they want us to be together and all of that. I just sort of have to not think about it.”

According to Stewart, Bella Swan is a good role model for young girls.

“I think that Bella is such a good character for girls, [but] not to look up to because it’s not looking up,” Stewart said of the character that has been criticized for being a teenage girl who’s helplessly dependant on the men in her life. “She’s normal, and I think the most typically relatable thing is that she’s awesome and she doesn’t know it, and she’s very sort of confident but also not arrogant. It’s a weird thing to be. I think she also has a lot of really innately female qualities… for a character in literature I think it’s awesome that so many girls can look up to her because she’s fickle and unabashedly [so]. It’s like, ‘I’m allowed to make mistakes and I’m going to do it and I’m going to do it right now and I’m not going to be ashamed of it.’ Bella is very much like that. I think she is a good example for a young girl.”

Bella will be literally stuck between Jacob and Edward in the infamous “sleeping bag” scene in next summer’s Eclipse.

“In Eclipse, [Bella] lies to herself and she lies to everyone around her about the fact that she’s in love with Jacob, just not as much [as with Edward],” Stewart explained. “I loved watching the three of them. I loved playing with the three characters together. There’s literally a scene where Jacob and Edward, who are mortal enemies, are in a tent with a sleeping Bella in between them. It’s a ridiculous circumstance to find yourself in.”

She spoke further about Eclipse: “We had so much to work with. There’s a big battle that happens and that was more than we had to deal with on New Moon. So it was cool. I’ve always gotten to do things for really short periods of time. To follow a character this long surprises me every time. I can’t wait to do the fourth one because I’m sure that I’m going to come in and say that everything I said this time was wrong, that I actually know Bella more now. And also, we have such established dynamics. The way that I know Bella deals with Edward, you sort of can’t mess with that. I know how she deals with him. I know how she deals with Jacob. I know how she deals with Charlie, her dad, and to have people come in and help out that process is only cooler. You always get a different perspective. So working with David [Slade] was like, ‘Okay, lets see what you’ve got,’ because he came up with a lot of stuff that I would’ve never thought of and he’s quite good at the whole technical aspect of movie making which is so completely over my head. So I got to feel safe that he had that handled, and me and Rob and Taylor just sort of did our thing.”

SOURCE

Leave a comment

Filed under Miss Kristen Stewart, New Moon the Movie, Questions & Answers

Leave a Reply

