Interview with the Humans

Mike Welch and Anna Kendrick  Interview



Exclusive Fansite Interview: Michael Welch (Mike Newton) and Anna Kendrick (Jessica Stanley):

In New Moon you guys have a love triangle going on. I was curious to see how that ended up playing out for you?

Mike: There are a couple of different love triangles. There’s obviously the one between Bella and Jacob and Edward that Mike is sort of trying to squeeze in to. A little more of a love rectangle. And then there is the one, I guess, between Mike and Jessica and Bella. You know, Jessica likes Mike. Mike likes Bella. Everybody likes Bella. And, I don’t know, it sort of doesn’t turn out great for Mike or Jessica. You know, a lot of this is very indicative of high school heartache in general. But it’s just sort of heightened with these supernaturalcharacters, you know.

Both of you have a background in theater. I wanted to know how has that helped you with your roles for Twilight and New Moon?

Anna: Well on a logistical note, there was a scene when Jessica and Bella go to the movie. When we were shooting that outside, there were like hundreds of girls standing and watching us as we shot it. And it was just a nice thing to have experience in front of a live audience. That seems like a silly comparison, but honestly it helped to kind of block out the fact that all these fans were watching us and to try to just focus on the screen. And ignore the fact that they’re all kind of videotaping us from the sidelines.

I was just wondering, for both of you, what was your favorite scene to shoot?

Mike: Well my favorite scene was by far the three-way date that happened between Mike and Bella and Jacob. Just that horribly awkward moment when Mike, of course, asked Bella out to the movies and then she tries to turn it into a group thing. And then it ends up being the worse case scenario which is that three-way thing. And, you know, it was certainly, I’m sure, not a lot of fun for Mike to go through. I mean, I can relate. I’m sure a lot of us can. But it was a lot of fun to do.

Anna: And I would have to say there is a scene where Jessica and Bella go to the movies. And that was fun because Jessica really likes to talk about herself. And Bella is really depressed. She’s not saying much. And we just were kind of trying to do it all in one take. And Chris told me to just keep talking until we came to a natural stop. So I stopped and just kind of monologued as flighty, silly Jessica, which was a blast.

Does having different directors with different visions for each movie cause any confusion on how you should play your characters?

Mike: I think that the directors that we’ve had are very different in terms of style and process, but there seems to be a singular vision in terms of our characters. Everyone seems to be pretty unanimous about it. And that basically is that we are there to, you know, add levity to the film, to the franchise, and just to represent normalcy in Bella’s life. Represent, you know, just kind of a real high schoolexperience to give the story some grounding so that people are able to believe the more supernatural fantasy element.

You had talked earlier about the monologueing. Can you give me some examples of maybe some adlibbing that you were able to do?

Anna: An example of adlibbing? Well, you know, I don’t want to give anything away. I mean, honestly, we were doing these takes where I just had to keep talking to fill space. So I am wondering what exactly it was that I ended up saying just as much as anybody. So I’m looking forward to seeing it and finding out because I have almost no idea what I ended up saying.

You guys are both so great at adding that comedic element into the movies. You both seem to be able to say a thousand words just with your facial expressions. And I was curious who are your comedic inspirations as actors?

Mike: Well for me, the whole reason I became an actor is because of Jim Carrey. I probably watched, you know, “Ace Ventura: Pet Detective” a thousand times as a kid. Man, other than that, a lot of comedic inspirations. Actors and comedians, you know, guys like, oh man … I think I’m just going to stick with Jim Carrey for now because he sort of jumpstarted the whole thing for me.

Anna: And I would have to say Parker Posey has been a favorite of mine for a long time. And all the players involved in Christopher Guest films. But then, at the same time, you know, more traditional ladies of comedy. You know, the Tina Fey’s and Kristen Wiigs of the world are really inspirational, I think, as far as women in comedy go.

New Moon is definitely a darker film, but can we expect the same humor that we got from yourcharacters in Twilight? Can we expect that in New Moon?

Anna: I hope so. I mean, I hope that we add some humor. That certainly was the goal. The films do get darker, but the scripts seem to include a little bit for the humans to do. As Mike said, to kind of add a realism and a grounding point for a franchise that is set in a fantasy world.

Mike: Yeah. And, I mean, what’s a lot of fun for me is that, you know, the high school kids really are very isolated from the rest of the story. So even if the overall tone does get more intense as we go along, our role really doesn’t change in that respect.

This question is actually for Anna. I was wondering, Melissa Rosenburg, the screenwriter, had said that she wrote your role kind of as combination of Jessica Stanley and Lauren Mallory. And I was wondering if you kind of had to keep that in mind, or have you just sort of just stuck with Jessica’s mindset.

Anna: I had heard that, and I know that she wrote some elements in to incorporate both characters. But I know that they’re both kind of the alpha female, mean girls of the novels. And one thing about my playing this role was that I felt like the only real way for me to play a girl who by all accounts should really be tall, thin and blonde was to just kind of make it really desperate and needy, and just a girl who is constantly trying to be liked. And it comes off a little pathetic doing it. So I know that elements of both of those characters are incorporated into the script, but I think the humans have a little bit more leeway in terms of the way that we play our characters. And it really only made sense for me to play it a little awkward and a little desperate. But, I mean, I think that underneath it all, that’s really what those girls are. So it made sense to me. You know, I think that it might be on paper, but there’s only so much I can do to make it kind of mean girly.

Since you guys have all kind of shot to fame from Twilight and New Moon, I was wondering what the most rewarding thing you’ve been able to do with that fame has been. If it’s charitable or something related to fans. But kind of the most memorable experience you’ve had due to your fame from Twilight.

Mike: I mean, one of the things that really was a mutual decision that my family and I made really early on was to be committed to some kind of charity work as a way of just keeping me, you know, grounded and keeping a good perspective while in, you know, the entertainment industry. So I have been working with an organization called Kids With a Cause for a number of years. We’ve done a lot of really great work. It’s sort of in transition right now. But, I mean, with Twilight specifically, with this franchise, I was able to raise a decent amount of money for Kids With a Cause that went to help, you know, help a lot of kids, help feed a lot of kids. We go down to orphanages in Mexico quite often and bring a lot of supplies and things that they may need. You know, generally it’s not really charity if you talk about it, but it’s been an incredibly rewarding thing and that aspect of it I wouldn’t trade for anything.

Justin Chon and Christian Serratos

Exclusive Fansite Interview: Michael Welch (Mike Newton) and Anna Kendrick (Jessica Stanley):

In New Moon you guys have a love triangle going on. I was curious to see how that ended up playing out for you?

Mike: There are a couple of different love triangles. There’s obviously the one between Bella and Jacob and Edward that Mike is sort of trying to squeeze in to. A little more of a love rectangle. And then there is the one, I guess, between Mike and Jessica and Bella. You know, Jessica likes Mike. Mike likes Bella. Everybody likes Bella. And, I don’t know, it sort of doesn’t turn out great for Mike or Jessica. You know, a lot of this is very indicative of high school heartache in general. But it’s just sort of heightened with these supernaturalcharacters, you know.

Both of you have a background in theater. I wanted to know how has that helped you with your roles for Twilight and New Moon?

Anna: Well on a logistical note, there was a scene when Jessica and Bella go to the movie. When we were shooting that outside, there were like hundreds of girls standing and watching us as we shot it. And it was just a nice thing to have experience in front of a live audience. That seems like a silly comparison, but honestly it helped to kind of block out the fact that all these fans were watching us and to try to just focus on the screen. And ignore the fact that they’re all kind of videotaping us from the sidelines.

I was just wondering, for both of you, what was your favorite scene to shoot?

Mike: Well my favorite scene was by far the three-way date that happened between Mike and Bella and Jacob. Just that horribly awkward moment when Mike, of course, asked Bella out to the movies and then she tries to turn it into a group thing. And then it ends up being the worse case scenario which is that three-way thing. And, you know, it was certainly, I’m sure, not a lot of fun for Mike to go through. I mean, I can relate. I’m sure a lot of us can. But it was a lot of fun to do.

Anna: And I would have to say there is a scene where Jessica and Bella go to the movies. And that was fun because Jessica really likes to talk about herself. And Bella is really depressed. She’s not saying much. And we just were kind of trying to do it all in one take. And Chris told me to just keep talking until we came to a natural stop. So I stopped and just kind of monologued as flighty, silly Jessica, which was a blast.

Does having different directors with different visions for each movie cause any confusion on how you should play your characters?

Mike: I think that the directors that we’ve had are very different in terms of style and process, but there seems to be a singular vision in terms of our characters. Everyone seems to be pretty unanimous about it. And that basically is that we are there to, you know, add levity to the film, to the franchise, and just to represent normalcy in Bella’s life. Represent, you know, just kind of a real high schoolexperience to give the story some grounding so that people are able to believe the more supernatural fantasy element.

You had talked earlier about the monologueing. Can you give me some examples of maybe some adlibbing that you were able to do?

Anna: An example of adlibbing? Well, you know, I don’t want to give anything away. I mean, honestly, we were doing these takes where I just had to keep talking to fill space. So I am wondering what exactly it was that I ended up saying just as much as anybody. So I’m looking forward to seeing it and finding out because I have almost no idea what I ended up saying.

You guys are both so great at adding that comedic element into the movies. You both seem to be able to say a thousand words just with your facial expressions. And I was curious who are your comedic inspirations as actors?

Mike: Well for me, the whole reason I became an actor is because of Jim Carrey. I probably watched, you know, “Ace Ventura: Pet Detective” a thousand times as a kid. Man, other than that, a lot of comedic inspirations. Actors and comedians, you know, guys like, oh man … I think I’m just going to stick with Jim Carrey for now because he sort of jumpstarted the whole thing for me.

Anna: And I would have to say Parker Posey has been a favorite of mine for a long time. And all the players involved in Christopher Guest films. But then, at the same time, you know, more traditional ladies of comedy. You know, the Tina Fey’s and Kristen Wiigs of the world are really inspirational, I think, as far as women in comedy go.

New Moon is definitely a darker film, but can we expect the same humor that we got from yourcharacters in Twilight? Can we expect that in New Moon?

Anna: I hope so. I mean, I hope that we add some humor. That certainly was the goal. The films do get darker, but the scripts seem to include a little bit for the humans to do. As Mike said, to kind of add a realism and a grounding point for a franchise that is set in a fantasy world.

Mike: Yeah. And, I mean, what’s a lot of fun for me is that, you know, the high school kids really are very isolated from the rest of the story. So even if the overall tone does get more intense as we go along, our role really doesn’t change in that respect.

This question is actually for Anna. I was wondering, Melissa Rosenburg, the screenwriter, had said that she wrote your role kind of as combination of Jessica Stanley and Lauren Mallory. And I was wondering if you kind of had to keep that in mind, or have you just sort of just stuck with Jessica’s mindset.

Anna: I had heard that, and I know that she wrote some elements in to incorporate both characters. But I know that they’re both kind of the alpha female, mean girls of the novels. And one thing about my playing this role was that I felt like the only real way for me to play a girl who by all accounts should really be tall, thin and blonde was to just kind of make it really desperate and needy, and just a girl who is constantly trying to be liked. And it comes off a little pathetic doing it. So I know that elements of both of those characters are incorporated into the script, but I think the humans have a little bit more leeway in terms of the way that we play our characters. And it really only made sense for me to play it a little awkward and a little desperate. But, I mean, I think that underneath it all, that’s really what those girls are. So it made sense to me. You know, I think that it might be on paper, but there’s only so much I can do to make it kind of mean girly.

Since you guys have all kind of shot to fame from Twilight and New Moon, I was wondering what the most rewarding thing you’ve been able to do with that fame has been. If it’s charitable or something related to fans. But kind of the most memorable experience you’ve had due to your fame from Twilight.

Mike: I mean, one of the things that really was a mutual decision that my family and I made really early on was to be committed to some kind of charity work as a way of just keeping me, you know, grounded and keeping a good perspective while in, you know, the entertainment industry. So I have been working with an organization called Kids With a Cause for a number of years. We’ve done a lot of really great work. It’s sort of in transition right now. But, I mean, with Twilight specifically, with this franchise, I was able to raise a decent amount of money for Kids With a Cause that went to help, you know, help a lot of kids, help feed a lot of kids. We go down to orphanages in Mexico quite often and bring a lot of supplies and things that they may need. You know, generally it’s not really charity if you talk about it, but it’s been an incredibly rewarding thing and that aspect of it I wouldn’t trade for anything.

 

SOURCES 1,2

Leave a comment

Filed under Miss Anna Kendrick, Miss Christian Serratos, Mr. Justin Chon, Mr. Mike Welch

Leave a Reply

